Articles

Twitter, Tweetdeck and the attraction of cute apps

In Blogging on Blogging, social networking, Web 2.0 & all that on January 4, 2010 by Alan Lovell Tagged: , , , , , ,

So I’ve decided to try twitting, in tweeter. I’ve not got anything to say and will have to decide at some point what I want to get out of tweeting. I mean, is it a way of allowing far off friends to keep a handle on what I’m doing (do they care), should it have a professional slant and try and get followers in the library world, or should I just try and entertain by offering wry, sidelong glances at the little follies of being a commuter in London. Not that I’ve necessarily the talent to do any of these things, but one needs a strategy however talented or talentless one is, doesn’t one? Still, my twitter user name is, rather originally I think, “alanlovell”: http://twitter.com/alanlovell.

Anyway, the point is that I’ve downloaded this smashing little app called TweetDeck. I suspect everyone knows about it, but in case you don’t it’s a nice little downloadable free program with a cute user interface that allows you to login, read, post etc tweets, in a much more manageable way than if you were doing it online via the Twitter website. It also allows you to do the same thing with Facebook. I’ve not liked logging into Facebook now for a long time, just because the whole thing seems messy and unsettling to the finer me. But now I can keep up with the singularly useless but occasionally amusing things a select group of my friends are getting up to; it’s the genuine social networking possibilities of Facebook without having to log and navigate through the flippin’ thing.

So that’s TweetDeck for you, and from looking around I see there are other cute apps out there for you if you’re a tweeter, such as Seesmic, Twittelator etc – for Windows, Macs, iPhones etc etc – and I do wonder, is it the cute apps that are the real attraction of Twitter? Maybe I’m just following the wrong people? Who should I be following, by the way? Any must reads in the information world? At the moment I’m following a few friends, some cricketers and cricket commentators, and the obvious ones such as David Mitchell, Stephen Fry, Jimmy Carr etc. I tried the Guardian for a while but just got bored with being sent links after links after links. I want to filter the information that gets to me, not just find another route through which I can get drowned by it.

Well, anyway, happy new 2010 all. I’ll try and blog a bit more this year (been a very poor few months – work has, honestly, been very busy…).

p.s. is there a way we can set up an ‘auto-updated’ (the) health informaticist twitter account one wonders? Hmm?

3 Responses to “Twitter, Tweetdeck and the attraction of cute apps”

  1. i got some opinion same as you about this twitter thing..

  2. Enjoyed your musings regarding Twitter… I am not totally convinced by the whole process… as you say do people care??? Then again, I may have reached the pinnacle… I am now being followed on Twitter by Eddie Grundy of The Archers! Now who would have thought Eddie would be a tweeter!

  3. If by ‘auto-updated’ you mean you want to automatically tweet links to your blog posts, Twitterfeed does that: http://twitterfeed.com/.

    Good luck with the Twittering – give it some time, it doesn’t really get obviously useful until you get the hang of who to follow and who to ignore. If you want to find some more library twitterers to follow, Phil Bradley has built a list here: http://tweepml.org/100-British-Librarians-on-Twitter/ which might be a good starting point.

Leave a Reply

