Articles

Facebook and Privacy

In social networking on February 16, 2009 by Danielle Tagged: , , ,

Has Facebook become a prison for your personal details (and photos)?  It appears that way as bloggers Consumerist and Mashable report that Facebook has changed its terms and conditions to state that information about how you use Facebook and details about you will be retained even after you quit.

Facebook has removed this paragraph from the terms of service:

You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the license granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content.

Now, I am not sure why Facebook would *want* to use my content, but I find the wording of the agreement (which is minus the above) very worrisome.  I also do not like the fact that they own my photos that are on there–since mid last year I have not put much up.

Hmm, is it time for me to find a shiny, happy, my-rights-are-protected social networking site?

According to Eric Lee, Ning and Elgg are a couple of social networks that could work as alternatives to Facebook.  I might have a look at these in coming weeks and report back.

Leave a Reply

