Articles

Ever the raven-eyed technogeek, I had to …

In Uncategorized on October 2, 2008 by Danielle Tagged: ,

Ever the raven-eyed technogeek, I had to go into Cinahl just now to have a look around. My first impression of the obviously shiny, new interface is that it wasn’t that bad. I tried the Visual Search which stratifies results by topic (Subject Heading?) or publication. This might be useful for targeting journals to handsearch or simply getting to know a topic. So I am not eating crow just yet, as time and the necessity of making something work rather than just toying with it, will tell.

A screenshot of Ebsco Cinahl's visual search option

A screenshot of Ebsco Cinahl's visual search option

2 Responses to “Ever the raven-eyed technogeek, I had to …”

  1. The Visual Search is interesting, but beware the challenges involved in trying to manipulate a 120 line systematic review search strategy on the EBSCO platform 🙂

  2. Doug, I bet it does! I have only just played around with the new Ebsco so I feel your pain having to rely on it. That will be us, shortly.

    Have you seen the following? I found it buried in my list-serv email box.
    http://tinyurl.com/4t5yao Click on the September 2008 link for the Net-Gold archives.

Leave a Reply

