Articles

An example of cloud computing: Tim

In How to work better, Information industry, Knowledge Management on September 16, 2008 by Alan Lovell Tagged: , , , ,

I’m impressed by Tim’s personal cloud. What’s his personal cloud? Well, it’s everything that he needs, e.g. mail, calender, to-do list, contact details etc, which he’s set up to follow him around everywhere. He has them accessible at his desktop and notebook computers, iPhone and various other internet–connected devices. He can enter new content, e.g. someone’s email address, at any point in the cloud (e.g. his desktop) and as if by magic it’s pushed around and synched up with the rest of his personal devices, e.g. to his iPhone.

To get Tim’s cloud working takes a long list of applications, including: Mac Leopard applications (Address Book, iCal and Mail); MobileMe; iPhone applications (Calendar, Contacts and Mail), Google Calendar, Gmail, BusySync, Google Docs, Google Sites (wiki), Google Notebook, Google Reader and Mac Evernote. His post explains it all. Despite the work, or perhaps because of it, It’s great stuff.

It got me thinking.

1) my personal cloud is pretty pathetic. I have MS Outlook at work, which I do not (and I admit, at the moment, cannot) access outside of the office; I have a not unpleasant little Nokia mobile which is certainly though not an iPhone or smart or anything but a phone with a list of contacts on it, which I occasionally synch with my laptop when I get around to it; and I have a very beautiful and very old-school Moleskine diary/notebook, which resolutely refuses to be synched to anything…

2) do I actually want to be synched up any more? I mean, if an email comes in to my work address over the weekend which might end up ruining my Monday, do I really want to know about it over the weekend? Either I do something about it, ruining my weekend, or I worry about it, ruining my weekend. Is there not something to be said about not being in contact all the time with the office?

3) finally, should we as information professionals be setting a trailblazing example to our firms, organisations, libraries etc? Should I be building my own personal cloud so that a) I know what it’s all about, b) I can help others to get their personal clouds up and running and c) I set an example to others to follow and take advantage of new technologies? Perhaps I am failing my flock miserably? Or am I simply deluded?

2 Responses to “An example of cloud computing: Tim”

  1. irony, I used my large moleskine to draw out the personal cloud before doing the graphics in OmniGraffle

  2. forgot, spent many years with Outlook, recently returned to the Intel Macs

Leave a Reply

